July Wrap-Up & August Ideas

July Wrap-Up August Ideas

I had the genius idea that I should try to post two times per week. Last week I managed to do that. Here it is Sunday evening, and I haven’t put much together for Monday’s post.

Argh.

I have realized that the first few of my posts have been reviews or review-like. Talking about the content and products of someone else. I’m not making my own original content by doing that. So, by trying to avoid those types of posts, I’ve painted myself into a corner.

The problem is, my brain has too many other thoughts bouncing around in there.

Brain too many tabs open

I have too many things I want to do all at once. Seriously, look at the stuff I jotted down while I was trying to de-clutter my mind so that I can write.

To Do List Notepad

I had hubby take the muffin upstairs to entertain her so I could at least get something down, but I cannot quiet my mind long enough to have a creative thought. And I feel guilty for letting hubby take over with the kiddo, so I feel like I have a stopwatch running for every second I’m spending away from my munchkin… this is so frustrating! So, I’m thinking I’m just going to run with it. Here’s a look into my crazy brain and a round-up of what’s going on with me personally.

Go Givers Cover

Someone recommended the book Go Givers Sell More to me, and I have been trying so hard to sit myself down and read it. It’s not that I don’t find it interesting—the very opposite in fact. It sounds like it is right up my alley, especially what I want to achieve through this blog. It is about sales, but not about sales. Crazy, right? I am so not a salesperson. The idea of sales makes me feel icky. This book takes the focus out of trying to sell something, and places that focus on “creating value” and forming relationships with people (and or customers) so that a sale may occur. I am so into that kind of mentality. I love it. But I have not been able to make time to read it this past week for the life of me. The title sounds kind of hokey, but I really do like the general message of the book so far. Has anyone else read it? If you have, what are your opinions? If you haven’t, do you think that it is something that you would read? Maybe, if I ever get it read, I will do a little review on here for you!

She Believed Canvas

Cute kid not included.

Check out this little gem I found at Francesca’s last weekend! I don’t stop in that store often, and I don’t know why, because they have some of the coolest stuff! They had lots of canvasses and wooden signs with cute sayings on them, and I couldn’t help myself when I saw this one. If you want to see just how bad my obsession with inspirational quotes are, see my Pinterest boards here and here. How inspiring is this sign though? I was hoping to hang it in my office at work, but it unfortunately doesn’t look quite right, so back home it went. I’m thinking of hanging it in my bathroom so I can get some motivation when I’m getting ready in the morning.

Seriously, guys. I'm listening to music on my iPhone trying to get this bad boy done. Love me some Lindsey Stirling!

Seriously, guys. I’m listening to music on my iPhone trying to get this bad boy done. Love me some Lindsey Stirling!

Ahh. I feel much better now that I have a little  something written.

So, now I need some help from my readers.

All 3 of you.

Leave me some love in the comments below and let me know if there is anything you would like me to do this month. I will most likely have Ipsy and Birchbox reviews again, although I’m thinking of combining them into one post. I haven’t decided yet. Other things I’ve thought about are some mom blog posts— weird stuff about pregnancy, things I’ve learned as a new mom, etc. Also, as I mentioned above, as soon as I can finish reading it, a review of Go Givers Sell More may be coming up. I really need to read more, so maybe I’ll make book reviews a more regular thing as well. I have so many things I am interested in, it’s making it very difficult for me to find my niche with my blog. Let me know what you’d like to see & be interested in reading and maybe we will figure out that niche together!

6 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up & August Ideas

  1. Angela says:

    Hey, here are some ideas (I cheated and found them online) I’d love to see in your blog! Hope you like one of them!

    * Somewhere you’ve always wanted to travel to
    *The best piece of advice you’ve been given
    *A hard choice you had to make
    *Share your bucket list
    *Write a letter to your future self
    *Give yourself a challenge and document the process
    *A day in the life
    *Try something new… Like a video blog!
    *List your favorite family traditions

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Chrissy says:

    I think you are doing wonderful. My advice would be to just be your self and don’t worry about what someone is going to think.. I know Jessa and there is a lot more that can come out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon says:

    That stopwatch is insane. I feel it too. Every time I walk away from our baby to do something and ask my husband to be the entertainment for a bit…

    I know he doesn’t mind and he thoroughly enjoys spending time with our daughter, but I feel like every second I’m away, I’m being a bad mom. Oh the guilt of motherhood!

    It’s like she is a tamogachi being put in the teacher’s desk for the day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment